Tom, Dick and Harry (1941)

The Horror…

I was left in a state of despair after watching Tom, Dick and Harry. The fact that a Ginger Rogers film could be this shockingly below par. It’s not just a forgettable, run of the mill film. Heck, I wish I could call it mediocre. Tom, Dick and Harry is horrifyingly bad.

Although the opening title is creative, it all goes downhill from there. For starters there is a “joke” early during the film, in which Phil Silvers asks Rogers if she wants some ice cream, he mentions a variety of flavours, Rogers mentions he forgot one, Silver’s denies it. Once he leaves, Rogers say to her date that he forgot to say pistachio. Several minutes later Silvers returns just to mention he forgot Pistachio. I don’t get it, what’s the punch line!? Rest assured my laugh count by the end of the film was a total of 0.

But let’s move onto the most awful thing about Tom, Dick and Harry. I am talking about the film’s dream sequences. They sound like an interesting idea on paper, but good lord, are they terrifying! I rarely find any movie scary, weather classified as horror or not, but never have I been so close to wanting the literally hide behind the couch. The most terrifying thing about these sequences are the adults dressed as babies, miniaturised and superimposed in the scenes. The Exorcist? Rosemary’s Baby? Phhh , please. Those adults dressed as babies is where it’s at when it comes to the stuff nightmares are made of. Was David Lynch inspired by this film? It’s like something straight out of Eraserhead.  Every time one of these dream sequences was about to start I was pleading with the movie, “please not another one!”. This was the last thing I was expecting from a 1940’s movie with such an innocent, carefree title.

I can assure you that I’m not exaggerating when I call Tom, Dick and Harry one of the absolute worst films I’ve seen from Hollywood’s golden age. After finishing the film I had to watch something else in order to help get it of my mind, not only because it’s a terrible film starring my beloved Ginger Rogers,  but because those dream sequences will give me my own horrible nightmares (Just for the record the film I watched was Lonely are the Brave starring Kirk Douglas, which did the trick). I’d imagine after winning an Oscar for Kitty Foyle, Ginger Rogers would have had all sorts of film offers going her way. Heck, she turned down Ball of Fire and instead appeared in this. I don’t even like thinking about it. Thankfully the following year she stared in The Major and the Minor, so all is forgiven.

Leave a Reply

